Die Mitglieder des wissenschaftlichen Beirats sind ehrenamtlich für die Stiftung tätig.

Hetzler_Stiftung_Suchtforschung_Suchtpraevention_Tilo Grosser_Beirat

Tilo Grosser, M.D.

Research Associate Professor of Pharmacology

Department: Pharmacology

Graduate Group Affiliations Pharmacology

Contact information:

Department of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Smilow Center for Translational Research
3400 Civic Center Boulevard, Building 421
10th Floor, Room 103
Philadelphia, PA 19104-5158

Office: (215) 573-7600

Tilo Grosser is a core faculty member and director of scientific operations at the leading academic center for translational therapeutics research, the Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics at the University of Pennsylvania. He received his MD and a doctorate in cardiovascular pharmacology from Heinrich-Heine University in Düsseldorf, Germany, and trained in medicine at Johannes-Gutenberg-University in Mainz and in pharmacology and experimental therapeutics at the University of Pennsylvania. His research focuses on personalized therapeutics in inflammatory pain and cardiovascular medicine using model organisms and mechanism based clinical investigations. He is recognized for elucidating sources of variability in the response to drugs targeting signaling lipids, including non-addictive analgesics (Web of Science Researcher ID: A-1057-2007). Dr. Grosser sits on scientific advisory boards for large scale translational research endeavors of the United States Veterans Administration and the National Institutes of Health and chairs the advisory board of the Hetzler Foundation. 


Prof. Dr. Christoph Stein

Director Experimental Anaesthesiology, 

Charité Campus Benjamin Franklin, Hindenburgdamm 30,

D-12200 Berlin, Germany


Christoph Stein ( studied Medicine at Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) München, Germany, and received training in Anaesthesiology, Pain Management and Neuropharmacology at State University of New York, University of California Los Angeles, LMU and Max-Planck Institute for Psychiatry (München, Germany). He then accepted a faculty position at Johns Hopkins Hospital and established a research group at the National Institute on Drug Abuse (Baltimore, USA). In 1997 he assumed the Chair of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine at Freie Universität Berlin (since 2003: Charité Campus Benjamin Franklin) and started an interdisciplinary research laboratory consisting of basic researchers and clinicians. His work has focused on mechanisms of opioid actions outside the central nervous system with the aim to avoid adverse effects such as addiction or respiratory depression. In collaboration with Mathematics at the Zuse Institute Berlin, his group recently developed an artificial intelligence-based design for non-addictive opioid painkillers. He has published over 250 peer-reviewed articles and received several awards, most notably by the US National Institutes of Health/National Institute on Drug Abuse, the International Anesthesia Research Society, the European Pain Federation, and the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research.


Prof. Dr. Rainer Spanagel

Scientific Director of the Institute of Psychopharmacology

Central Institute of Mental Health

Mannheim, Germany

Rainer Spanagel studierte Biologie an den Universitäten Tübingen und München und setzte seine Ausbildung in Verhaltenspharmakologie und Neurochemie am Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) in Martinsried fort. 1990 wechselte er an das MPI für Psychiatrie nach München, wurde Leiter der Suchtforschungsgruppe und habilitierte im Fach Pharmakologie und Toxikologie. Im Jahr 2000 wechselte er an das Zentralinstitut für Psychische Gesundheit in Mannheim, eine führende europäische Einrichtung für biologische Psychiatrie, um wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Instituts für Psychopharmakologie zu werden. Professor Spanagel wurde mit zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, insbesondere mit dem Sir Hans Krebs Award für seine bahnbrechenden Gen x Umweltstudien an Nagetieren, dem James B. Isaacson Award für seine fortwährenden Erfolge in der Alkoholforschung und dem Reinhardt Koselleck Award für Innovation in Neurowissenschaften. Er hat mehr als 300 Artikel veröffentlicht, ist Chefredakteur der internationalen Zeitschrift Addiction Biology und koordiniert die nationalen Aktivitäten zur elektronischen Suchtmedizin.